The race to the 2018 Caulfield Cup begins

The Caulfield Cup is the premier 2400m race on the Australian racing calendar and is one of the races every trainer and jockey wants to win, with the Cox Plate, Melbourne Cup and Golden Slipper the other main races.

There have been some famous winners of the Caulfield Cup, but in terms of finding the right race as a form reference via history is a challenge. The best and proven lead up is the Turnbull Stakes. 10 of the last 19 winners of the Caulfield Cup have come through the Turnbull, the latest being Jameka in 2016 when she ran second to Hartnell before bolting up in the 2400m showpiece.

The Caulfield Stakes (2000m) is run a week before the Cup and since the turn of the century, only two winners have used the race as a lead up. Mummify came through it and led all the way to win the Caulfield Cup a week later while in 2015, Mongolian Khan produced a slashing trial in the Caulfield Stakes before going on to score a dominant win in the Caulfield Cup.

Throughout the years, many mares who ran in the ATC Oaks in the Autumn have come through to contest the Caulfield Cup. The last horse to complete the double was How Now in 1976. In the last ten years, six winners have tried to win the Caulfield Cup, with the best result being Absolutely in 2011. The best result in recent years in terms of the Oaks being a form reference was in 2014 when Rising Romance ran a mighty second to Japanese star Admire Rakti.

Weights is also a key factor when selecting the winner of the Caulfield Cup. Six of the last ten winners have carried 54.5kg, though the 2017 Caulfield Cup winner Boom Time carried 53kg. The most recent lightweight winner of the race was Master O’Reilly in the 2007 Caulfield Cup when ridden by Vlad Duric and trained by Danny O’Brien.

Learn more about the 2018 Caulfield Cup via this link.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *